The Beginning

My initial interest began when I studied abroad in London with Jay Elliot. We engaged with Hopkins Architects and Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners. We took a tour through the offices of Hopkins Architects offices where I saw some very well done tensile canopy work.

Here’s a photo of a portion of this canopy, followed by an early sketch from my 302 studio where I used this principle as an idea for an awning.  Unfortunately it didn’t play out.

The second two pictures are from when Hopkins Architects gave our group a tour of Lord’s Cricket Ground. I’m beginning to look into how the conical tent structures work for studio and I found this detail to be a good reference of how the circular top is supported.

Leave a Reply

