From Tents and Tensile Structures to Umbrellas

I began my journey by researching the origins of tents and all of their components.  My research led me from different forms of tents to tensile architecture. After an extensive amount of research into tensile architecture, I have grasped the concepts of connections and details that allow tensile structures to be successful.  I began to notice great similarities between tensile architecture and umbrellas- both share the same definition as that of a tent.  By definition, a tent used as a shelter consists of sheets of fabric draped over or attached to a frame of poles or a supporting rope.  My current research is the mechanics of retractable umbrellas and how it can be incorporated into creating architecture.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

