Sculpture of mesh

I started with this study model, simply trying to combine the idea of a sail and a cable stay bridge.

This study model was essentially a diagram to figure out where I was going. The blotched blue paper is representative of the mesh in tension.

After some experimentation and study models, I determined that weaving strips of architectural mesh through taut cables would elegantly convey the method used to make the mesh in the first place. Cambridge Architectural uses looms to weave their various meshes. Therefore I took that thought and applied it to my sailboat/cable-stay bridge.

This next study model shows the weaved quality that I intended to establish.

The next step is experimenting with full scale materials.

Leave a Reply

