The Next Step Cont’d…

The greatest challenge that I have come across so far is whether or not the fabric and steel mesh would actually be able to work together and be supported in my design. After talking with Ann over the weekend I was able to conclude what would and would not work. The triangular pattern of my design presented the first problem since mesh is made to work in rectangular formation but the steel mesh called Mid Balance:

would actually work after being cut and welded and the horizontal members would keep it in better tension too. Ann also suggested that I should just continue the spirals of the mesh and then run my structure through that. The connections that I have chosen were taken from the tents I researched but modified slightly like the tent pole sleeves:

which would be used for the fabric and then the spiral connection:

which would be used for the mesh connections and to connect the mesh to the fabric. My overall design would look like this in plan:

where the gray triangles are mesh and the white are the fabric. As far as materials go the fabric will be Polyetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) that is a teflon coated woven fiberglass membrane that is extremely durable and weather resistant. The structural poles would be carbon fiber which is very strong and flexible. I am currently putting my design into bonzai and then render it.

Leave a Reply

