Now that we are starting to focus on amphitheaters I want to move forward with my same basic idea of nature and man made objects coexisting and not clashing.

I started my research looking at seating, I liked something like this:

I wanted to keep the structure itself very open because the beautiful sculptures around the site like:

So I thought it would be cool to design something that wouldn’t obstruct the view of these sculptures, maybe using something similar to the amphitheater at Pretoria University in South Africa:

I also wanted to use the mesh in my project as a shading device so I was thinking to use it similar to the blue tarp in the pictures above and also for acoustic  plates.  I also looked into shading devises that retract:

I would also want to use natural materials for the Columbus but find a way to incorporate the unnatural as well, for example:

Maybe using the natural materials for vertical elements and the unnatural materials for the horizontal elements.

Leave a Reply

